Compare › Guides › AI vs human receptionist cost
AI receptionist vs human receptionist: cost in Australia (2026)
What it costs to have your phone answered by a person on the award minimum, against what the AI receptionists we track charge for the same calls. Human figures are the legal minimums from the Fair Work award, with sources. AI figures are calculated from each vendor's published prices. Nothing here is a guess.
Monthly cost, side by side
| Calls a month | Cheapest AI estimate | Middle AI estimate | Full-time person, Level 1, year 1, with super | Casual 20 hrs/week, Level 1, year 1, with super |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 calls × 3 min 90 talk minutes | A$39 as listed, GST not stated AI Call Centre Starter | A$109 of 32 vendors | A$4,973 A$166 a call | A$3,272 A$109 a call |
| 100 calls × 3 min 300 talk minutes | A$49 as listed, GST not stated ServiceM8 Phone Agent Connect Plus (needs a ServiceM8 account) | A$200 of 32 vendors | A$4,973 A$49.73 a call | A$3,272 A$32.72 a call |
| 250 calls × 3 min 750 talk minutes | A$69 as listed, GST not stated ServiceM8 Phone Agent Connect Plus (needs a ServiceM8 account) | A$359 of 31 vendors | A$4,973 A$19.89 a call | A$3,272 A$13.09 a call |
| 500 calls × 3 min 1,500 talk minutes | A$104 inc GST A$94.55 ex GST OneBookPlus AI Receptionist AI Receptionist + AI Companion | A$602 of 30 vendors | A$4,973 A$9.95 a call | A$3,272 A$6.54 a call |
AI: each vendor's cheapest plan for that volume, using included minutes or calls and published overage, with 10% GST added to ex-GST prices (vendors that don't state GST are shown as listed). “Middle” is the median across vendors with a price for that volume. Setup fees and add-ons aren't included. Human: award minimum × 52 weeks ÷ 12 months, plus 12% super. A person's cost doesn't change with call volume, so the cost per call falls as calls rise. Wages have no GST.
Award minimum pay for a receptionist
| Classification | Full-time weekly | Hourly | Casual hourly (inc 25% loading) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Level 1, year 1 | A$1,024.70 | A$26.97 | A$33.71 |
| Level 2, year 1 | A$1,119.10 | A$29.45 | A$36.81 |
The Clerks—Private Sector Award 2020 covers clerical work including “receiving and answering calls … operating a telephone switchboard, attending a reception desk”. Level 1 duties include “reception or switchboard duties” such as directing callers; Level 2 adds “responding to enquiries”. Adults (21 and over), from the first full pay period on or after 1 July 2026. A full-time week is 38 ordinary hours.
Monthly cost of a person
| Arrangement | Wages / month | With 12% super |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time, Level 1, year 1 (38 hrs/week) | A$4,440 | A$4,973 |
| Full-time, Level 2, year 1 (38 hrs/week) | A$4,849 | A$5,431 |
| Casual, Level 1, year 1, 20 hrs/week | A$2,922 | A$3,272 |
We applied super to the casual rate including the loading. These are minimums only and leave out leave cover, workers compensation insurance, payroll tax (depends on your state and payroll size), recruitment, training, a desk and a phone line. We haven't put numbers on those because they vary by business.
Per minute
- A person on Level 1, year 1 costs A$0.45 a minute of paid time (A$0.50 with super), whether or not the phone rings.
- The lowest effective AI rate we track is A$0.10 per included minute (ServiceM8 Phone Agent Connect Plus, GST not stated, needs a ServiceM8 account), if you use every included minute. You pay for talk time, not waiting time.
- Every minute-based plan is ranked on AI receptionist cost per minute.
What the numbers don't show
- A person can do other work between calls, handle walk-ins, and use judgement that AI can't.
- An AI receptionist can answer several calls at once, and at night and on weekends, without penalty rates. Check whether your vendor charges more after hours.
- Many businesses use both: a person in business hours and an AI for overflow and after hours.
- Award rates are minimums. Check the Fair Work pay guide or the Pay and Conditions Tool for your situation.